Preface

his volume contains the papers presented at the Twenty-Seventh International Florida Artificial Intelligence Research Society Conference (FLAIRS-27) held May 21-23, 2014, in Pensacola Beach, Florida, USA. The call for papers attracted 151 submissions, 64 to the general conference (including 23 poster abstracts) and 87 to the special tracks. Special tracks are a vital part of the FLAIRS conferences, with 11 being held at FLAIRS-27.

All papers were reviewed by at least three reviewers, and were coordinated by the program committees of the general conference and the special tracks. The accepted submissions include 72 full papers (13 from the general conference and 59 from the special tracks), 17 short papers presented as posters (7 from the general conference and 10 from the special tracks), and 27 poster abstracts that appear in these proceedings.

Our general conference invited speakers are William Clancey (Florida Institute for Human and Machine Cognition and NASA, USA), Jennifer Neville (Purdue University, USA), and Thad Starner (Georgia Institute of Technology and Google, USA). In addition, our special track invited speakers are Vasile Rus (University of Memphis, USA), Motasem Alrahabi (University of Paris-Sorbonne, France), Alexandra Coman (Ohio Northern University, USA), and Gabriele Kern-Isberner (Technische Universität Dortmund, Germany).

Thanks go to the authors of both accepted and rejected papers and abstracts; the special track coordinator Ingrid Russell and all the special track organizers; the program committees and their reviewers; the invited speakers; Michael Youngblood for organizing the conference; Jeanie Gerber and Julie Youngblood for administering the conference; the Florida Artificial International Research Society for maintaining the conference series; the Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence for its cooperation with the conference; Mike Hamilton for organizing the publication of the proceedings; and EasyChair for hosting the review process.

- William Eberle & Chutima Boonthum-Denecke FLAIRS-27 Program Chairs